On Blogging as Process

March 11, 2011

Why a research blog?

Here are some of the reasons that I am a fan of blogging:

1. Forget the big words:

There is a particular style of academic writing. Citations are required, specialized terminology is often necessary, and styles of argumentation and critique often, although certainly not always, close off academic writing from a larger audience. My hope is that this blog allows me to participate in a wider discourse.

2. Blogging as process:

Blogging is also about documenting the academic experience as a process. Often, the end result of one’s work is a research article or two, academic presentations, or hopefully, a book. But there is so much more involved in the academic experience. I wanted to document some of the day-to-dayness (or week-to-weekness) of the process.

3. Track this!

Blogging has helped me to keep track of relevant articles and discourses currently happening in relation to the IRS TRC. It has also helped me tie in other more tangentially related issues that, although interesting, will likely not make it into my dissertation or longer pieces of writing. Still, they are relevant and blogging gives me a small space to share those thoughts.

4. The joys of writing in short form:

I am a slow writer. So when faced with a large project like a dissertation, giving myself the task of writing a short blog post often helps me get in gear to write longer pieces.

5. Sometimes people post comments:

This makes me happy. It reminds me that people are out there who agree or disagree with me, who want to know more, or just want to share a word of support.

6. Reconciliation requires many voices:

Not only do I want to do research on reconciliation, I want to be a part of it. My hope is that by sharing resources and reflections, I can contribute as a witness and participant in this process.

Thanks for stopping by to read this.

4 Responses to “On Blogging as Process”

  1. Alex Says:

    Hi Naomi,
    I found your blog this winter while researching graduate programs that intersect anthropology, media and visual studies, and education and international development. I love it. Particularly when you share a glimpse into your research processes, and your efforts to extend your academic work into engaged participation.
    Thanks,
    Alex


  2. Thank you so much, Alex! I’m glad to hear you like the blog.

    I wonder if you found a graduate program that fit your criteria. One of the other reasons I like blogging is that it can put people in touch, so if you’d like to know more about the MCC or Anthropology programs at NYU, feel free to ask (either here or via email: naomiangel[at]nyu[dot]edu.]

    Best,
    Naomi

  3. jb Says:

    I love your blog too! Thanks for sharing so much of your experience.
    xo
    j.


  4. Thanks, jb! I’m always happy to see your comments.
    xo,
    Naomi


Leave a Reply

