New Book: Other Tongues

December 10, 2010

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of attending the book launch for Other Tongues: Mixed Race Women Speak Out at the Toronto Women’s Bookstore. It was an inspirational evening and I felt so honoured to be a part of the event and this amazing book.

Earlier in the week, I had decided that I wasn’t going to read an excerpt from my short story, “On the Train”. The idea of standing up in front of a room full of strangers to share this story made me too nervous. But as I sat in the audience and heard all these amazing women read their poems and stories, I gathered the courage and decided to read as well. I’m glad I did.

Thank you to the editors, Adebe D.A. and Andrea Thompson, the publishers Inanna Press (York University), and all the contributors who made the collection possible. I’m looking forward to reading the book from cover to cover.

6 Responses to “New Book: Other Tongues”

  1. jb Says:

    nice work naomi. can’t wait to read it!

  2. TOMOE OTSUKI Says:

    Happy New Year, Naomi! Akemashite-Omedtou!

    Your blog makes me feel “I am not alone” whose desk is full of books waiting to be picked up…

    I was wondering if you have already read the book called The Civil Contract of Photography by Ariella Azoulay (2008). I believe that it would be interesting for you.

    Tomoe


  3. Hi Tomoe. Thanks for posting a comment!
    It’s funny that you mention The Civil Contract of Photography. I recently added it to my list. I’ve heard good things about it. Have you read it?
    Let me know if you’re heading to Toronto anytime soon.

    And happy new year to you too!

    Best,
    Naomi

  4. Lawson Says:

    Hi Naomi – sorry to put this here but I was hoping Tomoe you might see this – I’m trying to get in touch with you Tomoe, could you possibly email me? lawson[at]soundofruins.net – thank you!


Leave a Reply

