Hello, France.

November 7, 2010

An obligatory shot of the Eiffel Tower

I arrived in France at the beginning of November to begin my 5 week stay as a Memory and Memorialization Fellow at l’École normale supérieure in Cachan (a suburb of Paris). The Fellowship, organized by CNRS (France), New York University (USA), Memorial de Caen (France), and the National September 11 Memorial and Museum (USA), brings together memory scholars and experts to foster dialogue across disciplines.

During my stay, I’m interested in seeing how discourses of public memory circulate in France, particularly in relation to a history of colonialism and the second world war. I’m also interested in discourses of assimilation in France, as they reveal some of the ways in which France imagines itself as a nation and imagines its citizens. Although my main emphasis remains the Canadian Truth and Reconciliation Commission, I’m curious to see if or how drawing comparisons between the two contexts can lead to some interesting conversations.

In my first week, I’ve managed to dive into my reading list, do a little writing, and  visit two museums of interest: Le musée du quai Branly and Cité Nationale de l’Histoire de l’Immigration. I’m going to post about them soon. But in the meantime, here are a few photos from my trip so far:

Me and the leaves

A quiet morning at l'École normale supérieure campus in Cachan.

NA and JB reunited.

7 Responses to “Hello, France.”

  1. jb Says:

    reunited and it feels so good!
    xx
    j

  2. D Spinner Says:

    Looks and sounds great. I look forward to following your studies.

  3. Ayicho Says:

    Very interesting research. I can’t wait to read the rest. I wish you can trace my memory:-)

  4. Rachel Silverman Says:

    Hi Naomi,

    Just saw this link of FB. It was very cool to see.

    I have been working on something similar with a friend about our trip to Berlin two years ago with a Jewish group. The conferences you posted look fascinating – will you be attending any of them? Maybe we will submit our paper and you and I can try to catch up in person.

    Love,
    Rachel


  5. Thanks for the comments, everyone!

    Rachel – nice to hear from you! I’m not sure yet about the conferences. I’m trying to decide. But it’s likely I’ll at least attend one or two of them, even if I don’t present a paper. Definitely be in touch if you’re going to attend one. And it’d be great to hear more about the research you’re doing.

    All the best,
    Naomi

  6. Mike Says:

    I look forward to hearing & seeing more. Interesting stuff with visuals! Nice shots. We’ll have to meet up with Duff and go over your findings! Enjoy France! (bookmarked!)


  7. Thanks, Mike! We’ll definitely meet up in Vancouver. Hope all’s well!
    Naomi


Leave a Reply

