Things that Confuse Me

February 24, 2010

1. Diesel’s latest campaign:

2. Russian figure-skaters Oksana Domnina and Maxim Shabalin at the Olympics:

Confusing, right?

Check out Sociological Images for more on the Diesel Campaign, and Native American Legal Update for more on representations of indigenous peoples during the Olympics.

5 Responses to “Things that Confuse Me”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Me too!!! – every time I walk through the long corridor of the “West 4th” subway station, whose walls are literally covered in giant yellow letters extolling the praises of stupidity, I make a pact with myself to never buy another item of Diesel anything as long as I live. It really makes me crazy.

    The ice skating thing will boggle my mind for the rest of my life. I just can’t even imagine who the creative director was that was like, “Yeah – this is what they’re going to do.” S/he was probably inspired by the Diesel ad campaign!!!

    Thanks for the links!
    JB

  2. tracingmemory Says:

    Thanks, Jamie. This post was totally for you!
    Still confused.

    Naomi

  3. Jamie Says:

    I know it was for me because of the day you posted!!!
    He-he.
    jb

  4. Jamie Says:

    You should make “things that confuse me” an annual column on February 24th.

  5. tracingmemory Says:

    Consider it done!
    xoxo,
    *n


Leave a Reply

