Moving Forward – Search for New TRC Commissioners

February 16, 2009

Since its establishment in June of 2008, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in Canada has faced many setbacks. After the resignation of all three commissioners, a new selection committee has been formed with the hope of giving the process a fresh start. The committee is chaired by Honorable  Frank Iacobucci and includes representation from various sectors involved in the TRC. The representatives include:  Phil Fontaine, representative plaintiff and the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, on behalf of the AFN and the Métis National Council; Mary Simon, President of the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, on behalf of the Inuit representatives; Michael Wernick, Deputy Minister of Indian Affairs, on behalf of the Government of Canada; James Scott, on behalf of The Anglican Church of Canada, The Presbyterian Church in Canada, and The United Church of Canada; Pierre Baribeau, on behalf of the Catholic entities; and Len Marchand, on behalf of claimants under the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement.

One of the committee’s key goals is to clarify the governance roles of the chair and the commissioners. The early obstacles faced by the Canadian TRC illustrate that a clear mandate as well as clarity in administrative processes is vital to the success of an already difficult and complicated process. 

To read more, visit:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: